Good Setup Budget?

Thread: Good Setup Budget?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Good Setup Budget?

I will start out by saying I am in school for Manufacturing Engineering and I'm also an entry level engineer at a local machine shop. I recently decided to start my own small business. I mostly make parts for Subaru's however I am still growing and will be broadening my scope of work. I do all my work at the school, free manual mills/lathes, CNC mills/lathes, grinders, Wire EDM...why not? I do purchase my own material and tooling however.

Problem is summer and my inevitable graduation will stop my use access to this equipment. The parts I produce aren't complex in their overall design, however most every part produced have various engraving options.

I am looking for an ideal setup to get me started on a budget to having my own CNC system.

As of right now I'm looking at the Tormach PCNC 770. Offers more than enough travel, enough power and travel speed. However I'm wondering what other costs are going to be added to this. Yes I know there is a shipping charge and other fees for shipping to a home. I'm talking things like collets, coolant, computer, software, etc.

I currently have a spare computer I can adjust to meet the needs for Mach 3, I also have a design computer with Solidworks, AutoCAD Inventor, AutoCAD, MasterCam X4, and some other apps and programs.

Does the accessory kit offered from Little Machine Shop do well or should I just piece what I need as I go?

Can I make my own coolant system or just go with a pre fab'ed one?

Is the quick tool change system worth its price?

How about ways to control coolant, is not having the machine stand going to leave me with coolant running all over the floor?

I'm trying to get an idea of what I'm looking at price wise and what things are a MUST and what are a convenience.

Thanks Guys!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads