Preparing for the Workshop

Thread: Preparing for the Workshop

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Preparing for the Workshop

Hello,

I have been lurking on the zone for years and have been watching the Tormach since its birth. I have no cnc experience, however I have not been able to forget about this machine and walk away and ignore it. I have been manually machining, at the hobbiest level, for close to 12 years now. My concerns have always been the learning curve on the software side. I am not computer illiterate but I am not fluent by any stretch of the imagination. I just can't stop wondering if I can use this tool to make stuff. So, I decided to sign up for the 3.5 day workshop and see if they can persuade me not to get in to this.

Is there anything I should be doing to prepare for this workshop?

Thanks,

Jim

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Hi Jim

I think you may have made a mistake by signing up for the workshop. That is if you really don't want the machine. If you go, you will discover what a great machine it is and be shown how to make it work by trained professionals. In a couple of days you will discover that it is not that intimidating and you will have produced a useful tool or widget or whatever they are making in class now. You have the benefit of having some machining experience and know the limitations of turning the handles. Now you get to see the cool stuff. You will also get to meet all the great people at Tormach and find out first hand what first class operation it is. After all of that it would be hard not to buy one. Please don't confuse that with any type of "sales pitch" while you are there. I am sure that won't happen. They let the machine and their customer service do all of that for them.

So to go over it again.

If you want the machine and need a gentle push GO
    If you really do not want the machine DON'T GO

I guess this would be as good a time as any to welcome you to the "Family"