Techno Davinci upgrade - looking for advice

Thread: Techno Davinci upgrade - looking for advice

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Techno Davinci upgrade - looking for advice

I got a Davinci a while ago to use for banjo making, especially for pearl inlay. I'm a professional woodworker and self taught machinist, but this is my first cnc experience of any sort - time to learn some new tricks. I was hoping to be able to leave the machine stock, but for intricate curves it just doesn't handle the large code well, doesn't run very smooth, so it's time to upgrade the controller. Speed is not important, just accuracy and cut quality with micro endmills. I'm not experienced with electronics, but ready to learn.

After reading the threads here, I'm thinking to use Mach3 with a Gecko G540, and keep the Techno steppers and power source. I like the way John Carpenter installed the G540 in place of the original board, very tidy.

I'm trying to distinguish between what I'd like and what I need, a tricky balancing act, especially for a newbie. I'd like to save my $$ for the larger machine I will want later if cnc works well for me. But I'll do whatever is needed to make the Davinci useable now.

I'd appreciate any advice and cautions regarding my plan, and welcome alternative approaches.

Thanks,
    Richard

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Techno Davinci upgrade - looking for advice

It sounds like a good plan to me. But if lack of throughput was your major issue, swapping out the drives might not solve it. It might take upgrading the computer, running at a higher kernel speed, and using something besides the parallel port to communicate with your machine. But take it a step at a time...

[FONT=Verdana]Andrew Werby[/FONT]
    [URL="http://www.computersculpture.com/"]Website[/URL]

Downloads
    Uploads