Taig Lathe Threading

Thread: Taig Lathe Threading

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Taig Lathe Threading

Hey all,

In a previous thread I decided to buy a Taig mill and am currently saving for it and in the meantime would like to pick up a lathe for my apartment after the new years rush and would like to ask a few questions.

I have zero knowledge with a lathe and a night class is out of the question for many reasons so I am looking at the Virtual Machine Shop which is fine but not very well laid out to learn anything but free. While the dvd's at LMS like this or this while being geared for teaching are only 2 and 4hrs for $40?! My other search was youtube but while theirs alot of video theirs very little information. Any good tutorial sites that would setup a project and go step by step on setup, cutting, and finishing?

I have read all the fights between the Taig & 7x/8x/9x's and have played with each of them in showrooms and believe that the Taig's build quality and accuracy is light years ahead of the Chinese lathes. Its also a wonderful size for an apartment desk. I will be turning aluminum & brass mostly making steam/stirling engines as well as would like to make custom rings as my fiance's hands are so small no jewelry shop sells things. (luckily she hates gold and diamonds and loves brass, aluminum and titanium) I would also like to cut gears but hobbing will definatly be down the road.

The main reason people say not to buy the Taig seems to be because it lacks thread cutting capacity so I went looking for solutions and my word some of these gear assemblies are larger than the lathe is and it got me thinking...