Need help updating TAIG Mill with EMC-XYZ-BX controllers to run MACH 3 & 4.. LINUXCNC

Thread: Need help updating TAIG Mill with EMC-XYZ-BX controllers to run MACH 3 & 4.. LINUXCNC

Default Need help updating TAIG Mill with EMC-XYZ-BX controllers to run MACH 3 & 4.. LINUXCNC

I have recently acquired a used TAIG MILL with EMC-XYZ-BX motor controls with the USB-CAMpod running under SuperCamXP. This was developed by a company named super-tec which is not longer in business.

I would like to use MACH3 or LINUXCNC with the Mill and controllers. I'm hoping someone has done this already, Im struggling to figure out how to get MACH3(and 4) or LINUXCNC to recognize the USB-CAMpod controller. I did see some older threads from 2010 but it was missing some details.

Since I'm new to CNC I would rather learn the newer SW tools once, so I have not really invested any time in SupercamXP beside ensuring to motors operate.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Need help updating TAIG Mill with EMC-XYZ-BX controllers to run MACH 3 & 4.. LINU

Does it have stepper motors or servos? As I recall, Supertech was an attempt to create a controller that avoided the use of G-codes (SuperCAM was the name of the alternative command system), and used servo instead of stepper motors. All the configuration files necessary to make it work were stored on the Supertech site, but that's long gone. The easiest (if not the cheapest) path to a working mill would be to strip off all the Supertech stuff and replace it with a system that's known to work. Taig can supply a controller and motors if necessary, or you can put your own system together if you want. Alternatively, you can keep researching the Supertech system - let us know if you figure it out...

[FONT=Verdana]Andrew Werby[/FONT]
    [URL="http://www.computersculpture.com/"]Website[/URL]

Default Re: Need help updating TAIG Mill with EMC-XYZ-BX controllers to run MACH 3 & 4.. LINU