Need Help! Taig headstock sliding down when cutting aluminum

Thread: Taig headstock sliding down when cutting aluminum

Default Taig headstock sliding down when cutting aluminum

I have a taig mill that I converted to a CNC. I have been using it for the past 2 years for cutting wood. Recently, I tried cutting aluminum, and I noticed that the headstock slides down when cutting aluminum. I saw on the forums that some other people had this issue and fixed it by tightening the bolt on the headstock. However, this did not resolve the issue for me. Here is a video of me hitting the headstock with a mallet. The hits are moderate-light, but the headstock still slides down.

Do any of you know what could be the issue?

Thanks!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Taig headstock sliding down when cutting aluminum

Are you sure the end mill isn't being pulled down into the material? What kind of cuts are you attempting (depth, diameter, feed rate)? Those are pretty heavy hits on this little machine. You might not expect that dovetail clamp to hold up to those kinds of blows, even when properly tightened.

Downloads
    Uploads

the problem i had was it being pushed up. its pretty loose in his video, could probably double the torque on the 10-32 holding the dovetail clamp on. problem being its just not a secure design.

Downloads
    Uploads

I don't know the history of this particular Taig mill. I can tell you that something is worn a little or the machine has at some point not been used as intended. I have used these mills for 25 years and never seen that problem. Any of these smaller machines simply cannot be used like a 4 ton floor unit. We cut stainless, aluminum.... whatever we need to cut without problems.