Advice Deepgroove VS DSLS3000

Thread: Advice Deepgroove VS DSLS3000

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Advice Deepgroove VS DSLS3000

Am looking at buying a taig CNC Mill in the next few months and am wondering what I am missing when comparing the ready to go Deepgroove cnc mill compared to the dsls3000 version? The price difference is quite large but I don't see why? Can anyone enlighten me on this? Is there a decided advantage to the DSLS3000 version?

I have no experience with cnc milling which may be why I am not seeing the difference.

Thanks for the help.

Sean

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Advice Deepgroove VS DSLS3000

Hardware wise there is no difference. It's the same machine. Where the difference comes in is with the electronic and stepper motors. The DSLS3000 has added encoders to the stepper motors and the electronics to ensure each axis has actually moved to the right place. At a quick glance this seems to be a good improvement. Making the stepper motors closed loop should ensure that there are no missed steps? The problem is that the computer driving things knows nothing about the state of each axis, resulting in Cornering on the DSLS3000. Yes the DSLS3000 controller can drive the machine over twice as fast as the basic 2000LE, but only with care as any change in direction can start before the mill itself has caught up.

The comparison asked was to the Deepgrove package which uses a gecko driver, and using similar sized motors, the bipolar drivers get more power out of them than the unipolar driver in the Microproto controllers. It is only because the the Microproto is still half stepping that the closed loop 'upgrade' can be made, as it basically keeps driving one phase of the motor until it detects it has moved. The buffer that makes this work can be up to 200 steps behind the other axies so positional accuracy is compromised.