CNCzone.com-The Largest Machinist Community on the net!



Home Page Mark Forums Read Today's Posts My Replies Classifieds Reviews Photo Gallery Web Links Share Files Advertise With Us Ad List
Go Back   CNCzone.com-The Largest Machinist Community on the net! > MetalWorking Machines > Syil Products


Syil Products Discuss Syil milling machines and conversion kits here!


This forum is sponsored by:

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1   Ban this user!
Old 12-19-2006, 07:47 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 332
keithorr is on a distinguished road
Ebay Scam on X3 Mills?

What do you think? Two separate listings. One day listing, no reserve, no shipping information, no payment information. Same email listed in the body of the listing, but 2 different ebay id's.

Auction # 150072845555 and 130061026240
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #2   Ban this user!
Old 12-19-2006, 09:19 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 332
keithorr is on a distinguished road

2 auctions removed but another one went up identical except for ebay id "borrowed" from someone else. This person isn't even trying.
listing # 150072845555
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #3   Ban this user!
Old 12-19-2006, 10:44 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US
Posts: 2
Super-D is on a distinguished road
Ebay Scam

There has been a rash of these on Ebay lately. For laughs and giggles I emailed him at his address and he offered the X3 for 600 dollars. His second email asked if I knew how to send money via Western Union. When I asked him if this was a scam.... he never replied... I wonder why.

I'm assuming they have gotten the users password because it's always a different seller each time and if you look at the previous items they have sold none of them fall into the metal working catagory.

Stay clear but if you have time you can always email them with the address they give and just yank their chain for a while. I've done it several times and it can be quite funny after a while.

David

Originally Posted by keithorr View Post
What do you think? Two separate listings. One day listing, no reserve, no shipping information, no payment information. Same email listed in the body of the listing, but 2 different ebay id's.

Auction # 150072845555 and 130061026240
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #4   Ban this user!
Old 12-19-2006, 10:52 PM
Aerobuilt's Avatar  
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 15
Aerobuilt is on a distinguished road

It happened to me. The sent out fake e-mails stating that your account has needs to be verified. It looks real enough. I put in my ID and password, though everything was fine. They used my e-bay ID to try to sell a Kabota tractor($15000 item) for $3500. They had a big Font in blue stating to contact them first for "verification". They did the western union thing, and I asked them to send me their e-mail address. Never heard back. E-bay did great and canceled the auction quickly. There are hundreds of these auctions that look just like it.
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-20-2006, 01:06 AM
SyilAmerica's Avatar
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 203
SyilAmerica is on a distinguished road

Wow, the &alls of some people. If we could bring back public hangings, maybe this kind of junk wouldn't happen. They just copied our web content, not even trying to make it unique.
__________________
Direction, Commitment, Follow Through
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
  #6   Ban this user!
Old 12-21-2006, 12:12 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 13
PatathomeSittin is on a distinguished road
EBay Scams

I'm Pat, part of the Syil America team and the sole person responsible for putting Syil America things on EBay. If you ever have any doubts email me directly (Pat@syilamerica.com) or my EBay user account Syilamerica (Sales-Ebay@syilamerica.com)..
I've been watching for these frauds a couple of times a day for the last week. When I find them and let EBay know, they shut them down with 24 hours, often less.
We take these frauds very seriously. I don't want anyone getting burned trying to buy one of our mills.
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #7   Ban this user!
Old 12-21-2006, 07:33 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 590
NinerSevenTango is on a distinguished road

I was looking for a used cnc mill, saw one listed with no item location or other information, sent the seller a question, the next day the auction was pulled, the seller wanted me to wire the money. I strung him along for awhile, telling him I had no problem using Western Union to pay him, and asking more and more questions about the mill. (Guess what, it was only ever used to machine plastic and aluminum.) Got him to reply about six times before he realized I was on to him and he quit responding. LOL.

--97T--

PS--
If you ever list a car for sale online in Auto Trader or the like, watch out for the newly re-employed Nigerian oil scammers. Now their most powerfully agent in high oil industry CEO position has left them a large sum of funds with instructions to expedite most warmly the transaction, as he is dreaming of having this beautifully car in his garage. Etc. LOL.
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #8   Ban this user!
Old 12-21-2006, 11:14 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 9
DonRD is on a distinguished road
EBay Scams

Scam is not limited to X3 Mills. My wife's account got hit the other day when someone was trying to sell 12 sets of Golf clubs for over $180.00 a set on her account. We don't even sell on eBay. Was able to get eBay to end the sale before someone bid and won. Also we never go to any links in any e-mail so not sure how they were able to start selling on her account. She found out about it when she got a e-mail stating that her item for sale was listed.
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #9   Ban this user!
Old 12-22-2006, 12:19 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 590
NinerSevenTango is on a distinguished road

Time to start using strong passwords on your ebay accounts.

--97T--
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #10   Ban this user!
Old 01-31-2007, 06:01 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 24
iggk is an unknown quantity at this point

Originally Posted by PatathomeSittin View Post
I'm Pat, part of the Syil America team and the sole person responsible for putting Syil America things on EBay. If you ever have any doubts email me directly (Pat@syilamerica.com) or my EBay user account Syilamerica (Sales-Ebay@syilamerica.com)..
I've been watching for these frauds a couple of times a day for the last week. When I find them and let EBay know, they shut them down with 24 hours, often less.
We take these frauds very seriously. I don't want anyone getting burned trying to buy one of our mills.
you should look into eBays VERO (verified rights owner) program.

it streamlines the process of removing these listings
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

Sponsored Links
  #11   Ban this user!
Old 01-31-2007, 01:04 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 13
PatathomeSittin is on a distinguished road

I have , I've also water marked all of my photos and plugged the description with a few lines of "sold only by Syil America". This makes it more difficult to steal, which seams to have worked. I haven't seen a bogus listing in a week. I hope they've moved on to other items.
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 02-14-2007, 12:04 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 582
InspirationTool is on a distinguished road

Just as a heads up.... they are back at it again...

-Jeff
Tweet this Post!Share on Facebook
Reply With Quote

Reply




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO
Template-Modifications by TMS

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353