Need Help! Syil X7 X AXIS help when not remembering position

Thread: Syil X7 X AXIS help when not remembering position

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Unhappy Syil X7 X AXIS help when not remembering position

Syil X7 X AXIS help when not remembering position

Hi, I am new to this CNC Zone - Forum.

I have a X7 Syil Mill. Bought it new. And even though I have had it for 4 yrs, and not used it, now I come to use it it is causing me grief.
    It will not return to a set position on the X AXIS. Yes it moves ok. But when repeating a job, it losses reference point and starts somewhere else even though the controller being a ADT - CNC4240 thinks its at that point. These are stepper motors I believe on this mill.

I DO NEED HELP as jobs need to go out the door.
    Thanks Jon.

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Glider,

It sounds like it is loosing steps. Are you running code and taking aggressive cuts? Does the axis loose position when cutting air? Any description of what you are doing when it looses position will help with identifying the cause. These things are not able to take aggressive cuts like a real VMC.

gb

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

TY Chevalier, ty for this reply.

I pulled the stepper motor apart last night as it had been making a ticking noise like a micro switch does. Blew it out as could not find anything wrong inside. Clean and dry. No swarf etc. Tested it in machine. Yes, running G-code from Cam software. No, not making machine work hard at all eg: 0.2 cuts in 6061 Al...Question: Can the MPG hand controller be the culprit given if I wind too fast it lags and catches up after I have stopped winding the hand wheel.
    I had guessed it would know where it was. Could it be this. No signs as yet on actual cutting paths jumping around losing it reference as yet. I don't want to even think about that factor. Yes, I know only to well they are a toy.
    What do you think please?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads