Newbie Probably a crazy idea!! Linking steppers??

Thread: Probably a crazy idea!! Linking steppers??

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Lightbulb Probably a crazy idea!! Linking steppers??

Hi All,

This is my first post on this site which i have to say seems a fountain of all knowledge.

I am totally new to this and have got a 1940's Sheldon Lathe that to me looks like it could do with cnc as an experiment. Since my budget is almost zero i can't be choosy.

I have also been donated a large number of unknown 1.8deg stepper motors. All the same as each other designed for seriously top end moving lights. They aren't huge and are normally driven i believe by 3771 ic's. They are bipolar. Approx 5mm shaft front and back and the bodies are approx 30mm cubed. 4 wire.

My question is that since it is a beast of a machine i was wondering if it is possible to physically link the drive shafts of two motors to give more torque?? These motors were built for precision and are exactly the same spec.

Probably a stupid question but since they kinda landed in my lap and will save me a great deal of money on this project i was wondering what people think???

Many thanks to all who read and reply.

Best regards,

Nick

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by nick-a-million View Post
    Approx 5mm shaft front and back and the bodies are approx 30mm cubed. 4 wire.
    30mm ?
    Sound a little small. Even Nema 17 has 42mm cubed.

I would have some serious doubts that these motors can move something more severe like a lathe. May need some rather large gearing, which is a little counter productive for precission.

Even two of these might not even come close to a single Nema 17.
    Any data availabe to judge the motor torgue ?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Thank you for a fast reply!!

Hi dilbert0815,