Humble NEWB Seeks HELP of Expierienced CNCers. Donated Motors.

Thread: Humble NEWB Seeks HELP of Expierienced CNCers. Donated Motors.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Humble NEWB Seeks HELP of Expierienced CNCers. Donated Motors.

Hello community! I come asking for advice and direction with humility.

When it comes to building a CNC I'm a NEWB. I've been dreaming about building a CNC Router from MDF/Plywood, I'm set on a Gantry style build with the following requirements for travel:

~36" on X Axis
    ~24" on Y Axis
    ~6" on Z Axis

I'm planning to drive all 3 axis' with Leadscrews.

I'm only in the planning stages, so now is the point I'm open to changing plans. I like to buy EVERYTHING at once and have everything I need for a build ready on day 1. Consider me CHEAP but Patient. I'm also a very confident DIYer.

In an effort to keep things cheap as possible I've decided to try to salvage as much as possible. I reached out to a local office supplier about old printers that I might be able to salvage, and they sent me a box of shafting and motors for FREE! Feels like a SCORE, but I don't know what printers they came from or much about them. That's where (Hopefully) the experience of the group can help me determine what I need to know to select the drivers, and if they will work for what I have in mind. I'm going to list everything I know about the motors below.

The following motors didn't have a manufacturer listed, my research leads me to think they're probably Shinano-Kenshi, but I can't get a definite answer from them or any information on the motors. So the manufacturer is NOT confirmed.

1. STP-58D1008 - 1.8*/Step, 3.8(Ohms) LFa - 27Z97G - NEMA 23
    2. STP-59D1009 - 1.8*/Step, 2.1(Ohms) LFa - No. 26460G - NEMA 23
    3. STP-59D1019 - 1.8*/Step, 1.3(Ohms) LFa - 03970G - NEMA 23
    4. STP-59D1015 - 1.8*/Step, 1.3(Ohms) LFa - No. 28663G - NEMA 23
    5. STP-59D1015-01 - 1.8*/Step, 1.3(Ohms) LFa - 09503G - NEMA 23