Bipolar to Unipolar

Thread: Bipolar to Unipolar

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Bipolar to Unipolar

I am a total newbie on the subject of stepper motors and drives and I have been reading as much as I can to learn. However I am not getting very far. Here is my problem: I have built a table and am trying to connect these nema 23 motors. (23HS8630/23HS7430). The spec sheet says these are bipolar and made by Longs Motor. I also had a combination breakout board and driver. You all know the Chinese TB6560. Somehow I did get all three axes working and responding to Linuxcnc commands. Then while one axis was moving (probably had it set too fast) one of the chips started smoking and burned up. So I bought another Chinese BOB and this time, 3 separate TB6560 drivers. I am not having a lot of luck trying to configure these. First of all I don't know what I'm doing and cannot find definitive documentation on this equipment.
    This is the long winded run up to my question. Are the above mentioned suitable for a llnistepper driver? The linistepper docs advise that they will run a unipolar stepper motor, but I cannot figure out if a stepper can be a bipolar motor and configured as unipolar. I figure I could build some of these and actually learn while I was doing it. And also be able to repair them when I burn them up as I think that could be a distinct possibility.
    If anyone can understand what I'm trying to say please point me in the right direction. I will be most happy to RTFM if only knew where to find it and start.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Bipolar to Unipolar

Looks like it has 6 wires, so it can be used in a unipolar configuration. The Linistepper can run it.

Having said that... I would strongly recommend the THB6064AH kit instead. It's bipolar, it's well documented, and you still have to put it together (so it's no worse) and it's actually a little easier to assemble.