Newbie Manual quick change for ER20 collet/chinese spindle?

Thread: Manual quick change for ER20 collet/chinese spindle?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Manual quick change for ER20 collet/chinese spindle?

So a couple of things to start. First, I'm new to CNC, so appreciate any opportunity to learn something. Secondly, from reading a bunch of threads, I realize "relatively" low cost ATC is a pipe dream and it looks like even quick change tool holders are just not readily available for the cheaper chinese spindles with ER20 collets.

So after thinking about it for a while, it seems to me a viable quick change system is really no more than a tool holder extension with a 1/2" (12 or 13mm) straight shaft about 1.5 inches long with a should of maybe 5/8" diameter and a ER20 collet on the other end.

Of course you'd need one for each tool, but it seems like you could simply insert the extension until it shoulders and tighten it down. Might not be accurate enough for guys working in metal, but for those of use mostly working in wood, it should be repeatable enough.

I can think of a few potential issues, but would appreciate feedback on the idea? It seems like an area with demand and no solution?

Thanks,
    Mike

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Manual quick change for ER20 collet/chinese spindle?

What's the goal from this, having repeatable Z height, just not having to swap collets when you switch to different sized bits or something else?
    If it's just to not have to swap collets, you could keep using 1/2" tools directly in the collet, but use ER16 extensions for 3/8" and ER11 for 1/4" tools to keep the overall length a bit shorter.
    Biggest downside I see is adding a couple inches to the length of the unsupported spindle. Defletction of a beam is proportional to length cubed.. By using smaller extensions, this is reduced a little, and of course 3/8 and smaller tools tend to exert less radial force on the spindle.

Downloads