PWM vs Step and Direction - New to CNC

Thread: PWM vs Step and Direction - New to CNC

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default PWM vs Step and Direction - New to CNC

Hi all,

I'm helping my cousin with his CNC router but I am new to CNC machines and while he knows how to use it, the spindle has stopped spinning and Mach 3 is not able to control it anymore. We are putting our heads together to try and component isolate.
    I'm trying to learn about Mach3 and the CNC router, which is a 2012 NewCNC machine that was bought second-hand.
    The configuration manual references PWM and step and direction motor types.
    Would anyone be able to point out how to find out which of these two motors are in use on our machine?
    It will help when looking at the settings for one or the other in the Mach3 manual.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: PWM vs Step and Direction - New to CNC

Spindle motors are most often PWM. Axis drive are typically step and direction. Post some pictures of the motors and drivers and we can do a better job of offering advice.

James hosts the single best wiki page about motors for CNC hobbyists on the net:
    http://techref.massmind.org/techref/io/motors.htm Disagree? Tell him what's missing! ,o)

Downloads
    Uploads

Most spindle motors on these smaller machines are PWM, depends on the spindle size but for example: 2.2KW spindle controlled with a VFD, the PWM signal normally goes into a small card to get converted to 0-10V which controls the speed of the spindle. Those little board often have two relays to control the Spindle ON, and the Spindle Direction. If you have a DC type spindle another common one for cheaper smaller machines, in that case the PWM signal goes into a DC spindle control which allows speed control from the PWM signal. Post a picture of your machine and card and it will be much easier to tell you how to address the issue.

Russ

Downloads
    Uploads