Slow Project: "DIY" CNC lathe from Southbend 9 Parts

Thread: Slow Project: "DIY" CNC lathe from Southbend 9 Parts

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Slow Project: "DIY" CNC lathe from Southbend 9 Parts

This is going to take a while, so expect rare and intermittent bumps. Mostly because I'm a med student, and also because my workshop is 200 miles away.
    But that won't stop me!

The goal is to get a CNC lathe up and running, but I just dont like the look and feel of the 7x14's. I used to have a 13" Southbend with a 6 ft bed. Now that was sturdy. But that's another story.

I have a G540 and some decent ~400oz or so motors sitting about. So not too worried on the electronics side.
    If I end up needing more, well, I'll go nema 34.

Slow Project: "DIY" CNC lathe from Southbend 9 Parts-g540-jpg

I also just purchased a Southbend 9 headstock in decent condition, I couldn't get more than a thousandth play with a long lever bar in it.
    I negotiated to get the bed with it for only $10 more. But the ways are beat. And that's where the next part comes in...

Slow Project: "DIY" CNC lathe from Southbend 9 Parts-head1-jpg

Slow Project: "DIY" CNC lathe from Southbend 9 Parts-head2-jpg

I have a couple sets of nice linear rails. Some small... some big.
    For this project I have some THK 45mm rails, only one carriage on each, but the carriage is about 5" long, and already pretty stiff to move (probably needs to be cleaned out or the preload adjusted).
    Pictures of that later.

Once I get it all in one place and do some measurements I'll see if I can afford to mount the rails directly to the ways, or if I'm going to mount them to the side of the ways (assuming I can make it flat enough or mount flat stock).
    The other option is skipping the bed entirely and mounting some aluminum extrusions to some U channel steel and seeing how rigid that is.