Africa Build log - my hobby CNC build

Thread: Build log - my hobby CNC build

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Build log - my hobby CNC build

Hey guys,

I'm a hobbyist of many disciplines and I love building, creating. There was a point where I realised I'd reached the limits of what my hands alone were able to create and that I needed tooling that would allow me to create with greater precision and consistency so I decided to build a 3D printer. Part of the challenge for me was building something completely out of my range of capability, and possible innovate in some form, but as I researched, I found that developing a 3D printer from scratch was pointless due to the vast availability of commercially available printers and systems. I couldn't justify the cost when I weighed up the limitations of additive CNC systems and thats when I turned my attention to CNC machining. I havent totally abandoned the 3D printer, I intend to add an extruder to my mill at a later stage.

I watched hundreds of videos on Youtube of industrial machines, hobby machines and a few commercially available desktop units, needless to say... I fell hopelessy and absolutely in LOVE with CNC Machining. I set my sights on building a CNC mill, mainly down to the large variety of machinable materials available. I started this project in 2015 and it has turned into a full-blown obsession for me. Im now on the second iteration of the machine and its almost ready to roll, as of today, I'm awaiting the delivery of the final component - the spindle. I'm sharing my journey in the hope that it will help some of you, my fellow hobbyists and CNC professionals alike. I'll be as detailed as I can, but If I miss anything please feel free to ask. Disclaimer - this is merely a documentation of my project, if you choose to follow my advice - you do so willingly and at your own risk.

Part 1 - Parts list (I'll keep adding as I progress and remember stuff)

Controller:
    1x Arduino Uno