Need Help! Turning A Model Into A Negative For Mold Applications

Thread: Turning A Model Into A Negative For Mold Applications

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Turning A Model Into A Negative For Mold Applications

In the near future I will be having an existing item 3D scanned in order to get as close to precise a digital model as possible. I use Solidworks 10 and I have been able to draw up a model to pretty close to the matching geometry but, I'm wanting to get closer than just "Pretty Close". If possible, I'm wanting a "Dead-Nuts" match.

The item being 3D scanned is a small circular high pressure Piston Seal used in air guns. It's made of PolyUrethane and the face of this Piston Seal is the real critical part that I need an absolute match for. My problem is that I'm self-taught in Solidworks and I have NOT been unable to teach myself how to create a Negative out of the 3D scanned digital model using Solidworks. When you are self-taught, you have a situation where the teacher is just as ignorant as the student.

Back when I first started playing around with CAD software I did manage to acquire a software called AutoCAD. (which I no longer have) It had a feature called "Booleen" or something like that where I could do a sort of digital "Lost-Wax" thing wherein I had my original model; the one I wanted to make into a Negative, so all I had to do was to draw additional width, length or thickness all around the original and then select that original model and then delete it. This would leave a cavity within the remaining model that was the exact shape of the item I had just deleted. (this is just an example of what I'm wanting to do within Solidworks)