How to handle stock and zero Z-Point?

Thread: How to handle stock and zero Z-Point?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default How to handle stock and zero Z-Point?

Hi

Im quite new to solidcam but not to solidworks.
    I have a CNC-Milling machine with Mach3 and the prorpiate postprocessor in solidcam.

Now i have some basic but important questions.

1. I define a stock material in solidcam.
    I also define a coordinate system for the model which i want to mill out of the stock.

On the machine, i place my probe on top of the stock. Then i start to probe the cutter and get the surface of the stock as Z = 0.
    But Solidcam expects the surface of the model to be Z = 0. So i would have to manually calculate the distance from stock top and model top and define Z as this so that the machine will start inside the stock.
    But this is not very comfortable.

What would be the correct way to handle this?

Attached are some pictures to illustrate my problems.

Thanks

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails How to handle stock and zero Z-Point?-jpg   How to handle stock and zero Z-Point?-b-png   How to handle stock and zero Z-Point?-c-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: How to handle stock and zero Z-Point?

I wouldn't recommend using the final part as the coordinate system. If your fixturing is repeatable/reused, I would model your fixtures, and use a common point on them as your reference system. If you can't rely on the fixture to be in the same spot and want to probe the stock each time, model the stock in solidworks as another configuration of the part, and use that to select the coordinate system in solidcam. I always model the stock either way because an extruded box doesn't take very long to model.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: How to handle stock and zero Z-Point?