What do I need

Thread: What do I need

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Post What do I need

I'm a student in automated manufacturing and I'm looking at building my own 3 axis CNC router/milling machine and looking at upgrading to a 4th axis in the future. I figure what better way to learn than to do it yourself. I'm looking to stay fairly cheap on this project. I plan to use bi-polar stepper motors around 150 oz in and have a working area of 12x18x8 or somewhere around there. I plan on using a laptop via parrallel or RS232 port and to be able to run G and M Code programs. What do I need between the laptop and the stepper motors. Any help would be much appreciated.

Carl

Downloads
    Uploads

A controller. www.xylotex.com

Do a search for stepper controller on this board for more options.

Eric

I wish it wouldn't crash.

Downloads
    Uploads

I'm at about the same point you are, a little farther that's all. What you are now looking at is a controller board which from my understanding is that it goes between the parallel port and the stepper motor.

Now what the chips(IC's) on this board do is translate your commands (pulses) from the parallel into phases for the stepper motor electromagnets. Not only do the IC's do that but your controller, which contains the IC's, also has amplification circuitry(from what I gather this is done through IC's too) and that sends a 12v or whatever voltage to actually drive the stepper motor. I think somebody uses whats called a MOSFET power driver(I could be way off).

So you have a couple ways to do this. . you gotta lot of work if you aren't already into electronics to learn how all this goes together if you want to understand it, which is probably the best way to build your machine, or you can go to www.stepperworld.com and buy one of their controllers from somewhere around $300 american.

All in all it's worth the work obviously, seeing the unlimited potential of a machine of this kind.