Newbie questions

Thread: Newbie questions

Downloads
    Uploads

Question Newbie questions

Hello everyone.

I just want to say this website is awesome. I found it a few weeks ago while surfing the net. I have wanted to build a cnc machine for years. I’m a soon to graduate college student, so it will be a few months before I can start building, so I’m just working on the design of my machine. I want my machine to be capable of the following.

X = 24”
    Y = 12”
    Z = 6”
    cutting speed 50 ipm
    3d milling in balsa and other soft woods
    .005” accuracy

I Plan on using a large 1.5-3 hp router for the cutting head, and mdf reinforced with angle iron for the frame. I’m not sure what other parts I need so I have some questions. Any comment or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

1. If I use large steppers 175-250 oz/in and Xylotex boards, will my machine be able to do 3d milling in balsa and pine at 50 ipm or do I need to use servos and gecko drives?

2. At 50 ipm can I use delrin for drive nuts or do I have to go with metal of some kind?

3. I plan on using drill rod for guides, but what should I use for bearings? Linear ball bearings, delrin, bronze iolite?

When I have made some progress on my design I will post some images here.

-Dan Sherman

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Newbie?

Looking at your questions, i would say you're no newbie !

Ed.

Not the horse, of course of course...
    Building my own Scrapheap challenge CNC, or is it Junkyard wars CNC?

Downloads
    Uploads

Although I've personally never built a stepper system, I would think that you could achieve 50 in./min. with good sized steppers.

For linear motion, try ebay... there's no guarantee, but I would bet you can find THK rails or good thompson linear bearings in sizes that would work for you for little money, and it'll save you a good deal of time trying to find something that will work.

Hope it helps, and keep us updated on your progress.