Second Machine Started

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Second Machine Started

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Second Machine Started

I have just finished the first machine and have already started on the second. I have been collecting bits for the second and third machines for quite a few months now so at least I won't be waiting on parts. I started cutting the steel base last weekend and hope to make more progress this weekend.

I will build the strengths of the last machine into this one and look at ways of improving some of the weaker areas as well. It will be a steel base with aluminum gantry and all the rails will be commercial products rather than do it yourself. The time and cost of fabricating your own linear rails is not worth it for me. I also feel that no matter how much effort you put into making your own they are likely to be of less quality than commercial rails.

Well that out of the way I thought I would kick this thread off with a photo of my first router and then one of the rails and ballscrew I have purchased for the second machine.

As happened on the first machine I do not have drawings and apart from a concept in my head this thing will evolve as I go so it should be interesting to see the end result. I don't seem to have the patience for drawing but can tinker out in the shed for hours so I figure I may as well do something I enjoy.

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Second Machine Started-first_router-jpg   Second Machine Started-3_axis_assemblies-jpg  
    Last edited by Rodm1954; 03-11-2006 at 07:17 PM.
    cheers,
    Rod

Perth, Western Australia

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads