New Machine Build Two speeds required for a measuring machine

Thread: Two speeds required for a measuring machine

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Two speeds required for a measuring machine

Hi,
    I'm designing a machine that is supposed to make some measurements on small metal parts (say 100mmX30mm LxD max).
    In order to make these measurements, the parts must be rotated at high speed (13000 to 20000 rpm) and at very low speed (say 5rpm).
    These parts to be measured are mainly turned parts, therefore the "high speed" rotation can be easily made with a low power spindle (in fact, no metal working has to be made, just rotation).

Here are my doubts (I'm an engineer, but mostly in the automation/IT field and I have little mechanical and electronic experience):

1. Because the parts to be measured are different from each other, the best way to hold them into the measuring machine would be in a way similar to how they were placed into the lathe when machined. Therefore I suppose it is required to have some kind of standard connection like a morse taper down the motor shaft, to allow the operator to switch between say a 3-jaw chuck and a tailstock, which one is more suited to hold the part.
    => can I achieve this with a low power spindle, the ones that usually are sold with ER11/ER16 clamps? I mean, can I replace those ER clamps with standard chucks, tailstocks, and other morse taper accessories?

2. For the low speed rotation, I suppose I cant use the same spindle motor, that is not designed for such low rpms, am I right?

I hope I didn't write too many non-sense! Thank you for your help.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Two speeds required for a measuring machine