How to control AC servos

Thread: How to control AC servos

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default How to control AC servos

I'm new to CNC and am at a standstill on a project.

I'm trying to get a lathe setup to run off Mach3. I ordered a bunch of parts, all showed up, I got excited, and now I'm singing the blues. Being new to this I thought the servos were DC...they're AC. Now I have a couple drives, a smoothstepper, and no machine to use them on because it doesn't appear they'll work.

The servos on the machine are Fanuc b6/2000 with accompanying amplifiers. They require 24v, 15v, -15v?, and 5v. I'm in no position to buy any industrial grade/price stuff so I'm wondering what options I might have.

Would swapping out the AC servos to DC be the simplest route?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: How to control AC servos

Buying DC servos might be a good option. But first, what drives did you buy? And what motors are they compatible with? I assume you bought a machine with no original controls on it at all? Going to need a bit more information from you to be able to give intelligent answers.

The Fanuc servos and amps will work fine, and the power supplies are not that expensive, except for the 24V a computer power supply would work. The problem is that you are not going to control them with a smoothstepper.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Dawson View Post
    Buying DC servos might be a good option. But first, what drives did you buy? And what motors are they compatible with? I assume you bought a machine with no original controls on it at all? Going to need a bit more information from you to be able to give intelligent answers.

The Fanuc servos and amps will work fine, and the power supplies are not that expensive, except for the 24V a computer power supply would work. The problem is that you are not going to control them with a smoothstepper.