Need Help! CNC milling jewelry box

Thread: CNC milling jewelry box

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default CNC milling jewelry box

Hello!
    I am new to cnc world. have just started a robotic workshop and would like to cnc mill a jewelry box with a lid that has a shape of a hemisphere.
    I would like to hear from the experts about the strategy to make tool paths. both roughing and finishing.
    I was thinking first mill and finish the inside of the hemisphere, then rotate stock, fix it with correct coordinates and then mill the outside, with some bridges left to hold the piece.

How would you go about milling a hemisphere with let's say 50 mm diameter and a thickness of 8 mm. The material is gonna be cork , so any thoughts on feeds and speeds and type of endmill and ballmill is highly appreciated.

Best regards
    Shahrokh

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails CNC milling jewelry box-image-1-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: CNC milling jewelry box

It's two ways to manufacture this lid.
    Natural - one thick piece of stock
    And economy - set of flat arcs glued to stock
    If you choose 1st way, you need to machine inside lid by long tools - at least 42mm
    The minimal diameter of this finishing tool i seen is 6mm, but you can machine with 10-18mm diameter, depends of your spindle power.
    If your Rhinocam license allows 3 axis advanced strategies, you can use horizintal finishing directly, without prior roughting.
    Also you can flip stock by defining new setup with one axis rotated at 180°. Very useful for me.
    And you also don't need to make bridges. Just make stock little thicker, after you process both sides, you can manually sand out thin piece of stock below

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thank you for your reply.