Newbie to rhino- please help.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie to rhino- please help.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Newbie to rhino- please help.

greetings rhino users. I am a newbie to Rhino and am curious about a couple things.

I am trying to create a concave recess on the face of an object but every time i do, it wont let me trim the excess off AND its convex, not concave. I know its kind of a general question, and its tough to suggest a solution without seeing the actual drawing... and since i dont know how to show the drawing, ill show what i am referencing. I am currently drawing the buckle. I have the whole thing draw, except the recess around the center dial.

I do have one version drawn that has the convex recess- but it has a section that wont delete, and is not selectable... but its there..

http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/2179/cimg3586ur3.jpg
    http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/c...jpg/1/w640.png

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Update- I have actually got the surface to be more concave by messing with the stiffness of the patch...so that might be all set... but it sill wont let me trim it nicely....

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Without seeing your drawing, I am making a few assumptions. Please forgive me.

For drawing that buckle, I believe you will have better luck using the boolean difference functions. This is done by drawing two solids, one is the main part of the buckle, and the other is the 3-d shape that you want to subtract (or gouge) out of it.

This will automatically trim the edges for you.

For making the 3d shape that you want to subtract, I would create a sphere first. Then, I would "rebuild" it to get more control points. Using control point editing, I would flatten the sphere, and drag the upper corners out a bit.

Good luck,

Rob

Downloads
    Uploads

Though you guys would find this interesting.
    http://www.novedge.com/documents/3247/SKU/2555

Registered