Newbie BooleanDifference question

Thread: BooleanDifference question

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default BooleanDifference question

Hello All,

I have a simple boolean question that I cannot resolve. I have attached the file (.dwg) for reference. It is supposed to be a simple column made by drawing the 2D form and revolving it around the central axis. I then drew one of the flutes and attached it to the column. I want to make 12 of these equal distance from each other and the use BooleanDifference? or whatever to remove this material from the column. The message I got back was "unable to complete boolean operation". There is probably a simple reason for this, but being a newbie, I don't know what it is. Can anyone help?

Thanks,

ChuckInCR

Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by ChuckInCR; 03-28-2008 at 01:06 PM. Reason: forgot to specify file type

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I would place the flutes in position and intersect the flute and column surface then use the trace created by intersecting the surfaces to trim the surfaces... keep in mind you are dealing with "polysurfaces" and not solids... also you may have to show more isolines to make triming easer...

Hope this helps... James

Downloads
    Uploads

Yes, your geometry has to be solid to boolean.
    You can trim, join and other operations to the wireframes and surfaces, but the boolean operations are for solids.

In Rhino a solid is considered: a joint surface or polysurface that is airtight and has no gaps. As an experiment, you can make a 3d Box, Explode it, Join the parts and turn it back Solid/Make Solid.

For your column:

1.) To make the cap, it looks like you want to join your radius and straight section, and then revolve that using the profile and picking axis points going anywhere through the column centerline.