Build your own large format printer?

Thread: Build your own large format printer?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Build your own large format printer?

This is JUST A THOUGHT i have been meddling with for a couple of years. Haven't really researched on this, but might be possible - and might even be very easy! I don't know.

My thought is, simply, to modify an existing inkjet (office type) making it wider and perhaps fitting a CIS system on it.

Would it be possible just to "enlarge" the sideways movement by putting in a longer brushed iron bar and a longer gear belt? Of course the driver (and possibly the firmware?) would need to know to print wider.

I disassembled one of my own printers and found out, there is a sensoe registering when the printhead i in either side of the printable area. Also, there is a paper sensor. Much more than this, I don't know.

Anyone up for the challenge?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

yeah, i was thinking the same and coming here to find answers/solutions, but i could only see question like you hv posted...

anyway, i'm thinking of changing the sensor resolution to a lower value one, eg. let's say original is 180dpi, reducing to by 5 fold becoming 36dpi. It'll cheap the printer to printer 5 times wider, almost 5 feet! Of course, the picture u send to print has to be distorted in a way that it'll print in a right proportion (eg. original pic WIDTH shrunk by 5 times). Then, the picture width resolution will also be sacrificed by 5 times, example original resolution is 5760dpi x 1440dpi, then after "cheating" it, it'll b reduced to 1152dpi x 1440dpi....

how does this hypothesis sound? anyone any voice??

thanks,
    Andy

Downloads
    Uploads

Andy....nice hypothesis......I suspect that you have discovered that if you walk around the base of a tree.....you can walk along time before you get to the other side.