NEW DESIGN For Anti-Backlash Acme Nuts!

View Poll Results: Are you having problems with Backlash in your DIY machine?

Voters
185. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes I am having trouble with backlash!

66 35.68%
  • No, I have already found a solution to that problem!

39 21.08%
  • I have not built mine yet!

80 43.24%

Thread: NEW DESIGN For Anti-Backlash Acme Nuts!

Cool NEW DESIGN For Anti-Backlash Acme Nuts!

I think I have finally got it!
    It took a little work, but this nut will eliminate all Backlash from a Rolled Acme 1/2-10 threaded rod!

This is my first attempt, its big and bulky, and weighs over a pound!
    I made is out of solid bearing bronze! In the future I plan on streamlining it to reduce the weight, and the diameter of the flange!

Has 4x 1/4" Dia. Holes on 1.875 Dia. Bolt Circle
    OD=2.375" (Reduced to 1.375" Diameter)
    Flange Thickness= 3/8"
    Length= 1.875"
    Weight=1lb 7oz

By turning the two #10-32 SHCS, this nut can be manually adjusted to remove backlash as the nut & screw wear from daily use!

Not sure if a grease nipple is necessary, but there is pleanty of room inside to hold a small quantity of grase!

I thought about using springs, but it didn't appear to need them!

Will make another nut with a 15/16-16 OD thread, like the ones on a Thompson ball nut, but not every DIY mechanic has a tap that size!

I have made a total of four nuts, using different materials such as: Delrin, Brass, Bronze, and Cast Iron. All are identical in size, but have different strengths and weights!

Here is the eBay listing!
    Eric

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails NEW DESIGN For Anti-Backlash Acme Nuts!-antibacklashbronzeacme500-640x606-jpg   NEW DESIGN For Anti-Backlash Acme Nuts!-antibacklashbronzeacme500-640x603-jpg   NEW DESIGN For Anti-Backlash Acme Nuts!-000_0586-jpg   NEW DESIGN For Anti-Backlash Acme Nuts!-000_0585-jpg