Microchip vs Atmel

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Microchip vs Atmel

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Microchip vs Atmel

Hello.
    I was having my first encounters with microcontrollers and I have played with MPLAB mpasm programming a very little bit, mainly trying to understand the PICStep program. I also installed the AvrStudio but havent used it much.

As a programmer I am unskilled I have notions of C and ASM but if I would learn to use a microcontroller I would like to dig into C because of the higher lever programming is easier to read and to code. I am pretty much set on this because of my ADHD and the amount of focus needed to debug asm code if out of my league, so I need easier readability of the code.
    Do MPLAB has a WinAVR GCC equivalent? I am not into purchasing a separate compiler for the moment.

Right now I am studying the possibility to purchase a developer tool of sort hopefully with LCD for microcontroller programming and application implementation not particularly for motion control but in general.

The thing that have stuck in my head is that Avr programs are 100% operational in any of the microcontroller family. PICs programs are different depending on the family PIC16 vs PIC18.

Locally I have Newark and its virtually Avr-less but otoh has hundreds of Microchip Devtools available, there are so many that choosing a Developer Tool is becoming very confusing. If the budget is about $150 which Microchip devtool is best suited for a beginner. A developer board does PIC programming or I need another one for that task?

Thanks.
    Konstantin.

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

IMHO you can't go wrong with WinAVR and Avrstudio, nice to have everything integrated.

IIRC GCC is not available for PIC but microchip has an (probably timelimited) free trial of their compiler. Microchip is also generous in sending out samples.