milling large openings in ground plane on one side of the board?

Thread: milling large openings in ground plane on one side of the board?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default milling large openings in ground plane on one side of the board?

I am looking at a 2 sided FR4 board for RF (VHF) where one side is used for ground plane - the layout already exists(scanned artwork from an old magazine). The ground plane has about 30 holes that are from about 0.2 - 0.7 inches across and are odd shapes. I am just getting started with PCB milling and wondering how I can produce the large openings. I suppose I could mill the outlines (using an normal isolation V bit) and then manually peel off the unwanted copper foil. I could pull the drawing into a CAD program and generate gcode for milling them as pockets but wonder about the life of the end mill with all the surface area. Any other suggestions?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: milling large openings in ground plane on one side of the board?