Build Thread My C-Beam Machine CNC

Thread: My C-Beam Machine CNC

Downloads
    Uploads

Cool My C-Beam Machine CNC

Hello all, I have been browsing off and on here at the zone for a few years. Well not to long ago I bit the bullet and ordered the "kit" I was going to build. I went with the Openbuilds C-beam Machine CNC router kit for a few reasons. Price / Size (small craftroom) / V-slot.. I also build design and use 3d printers and all of them use openbuilds V-slot linear rail in one way or another. As such going with a a V-slot based cnc my overall risk of complete failure was lower as I could always reuse parts for my printers.

I am the first to say I am a complete newbie and have been making plenty of mistakes. However I could not be happier that I took that initial plunge into the wonderful world of cnc. Well enough rambling and onto photos.....

When I first started to recive parts from my orders. Along with the C-beam machine. I chose to go with the Dewalt dwp611 router. Precise Bit 1/8 and 1/4 collet's and nut and the cnc xPRO V2 usb Controller.

This has been a very exciting experience for me. As my first cnc router it has been a pleasure to put together. Openbuilds and the parts store team held back no effort in packaging and shipping everything out. With each axis broken down and individually bagged and labeled. Combined with Mark's build videos on youtube ( check his channel "openbuilds" ) the whole process was nice and smooth.

I had no problem with the lead screw to bearing fitment. I did not even need to sand down the screw!

The Z- axis gantry plate seemed to move up and down a little rough when moved by hand during the preloading wheels stage. Otherwise everything seems smooth when turning by the leadscrew. ( hoping I did not get to much preloading, I tried to match the Vid. )