Newbie make your own breakout and driver board?

Thread: make your own breakout and driver board?

Downloads
    Uploads

Question make your own breakout and driver board?

Hi,

I would like to make my own breakout board and driver boards and I was wondering if anyone could walk me threw the process.
    I would like to use a DB25 plug like the one shown here make your own breakout board
    it would be very cool if I could learn how to make a driver board that works with Mach3.
    Obviously I am no electrician, I also undertsand there is lots to learn when it comes to this. So I appreciate your time and help.

Very best wishes,

Rob from what is a cnc

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Hi Rob

If you do not have any experience in electronics better buy ready-made breakout board with optoisolation - that thing separates driver boards (high voltage and current) and expensive "guts" of your computer
    You did not wrote how much do you know about electronics, if the answer is "nothing" - buy a book ("The Art of Electronics" for example).

Downloads
    Uploads

Exclamation

Thanks GRG2

I do know some electronics, for example the components. I am also confortable with the math that goes with it but I have never drawn up my own schematic.

I have chosen to go with a DB25 interface because I have a number of old towers just hanging around the house that I can use or screw up :P but I see your concern.

To be honest I am one of those people that learns from just getting chucked into the thick of things, I enjoy the learning curve because it is very rewarding when a breakthrew is made and I have managed to re-create the wheel.

Anyway if you have any tips or schematics for building your own control from scratch it would be greatly appreciated. I will gladly look on Mouser for the parts and I have a very nice large Breadboard to start the project with.