Need a Sanity Check

Thread: Need a Sanity Check

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Question Need a Sanity Check

Hello All,

I am a product designer for a company that designs packaging foam inserts which we currently outsource for manufacturing. I am new to the world of machining, and have been tasked with sourcing a CNC mill to bring that aspect of our production in house. I have been doing a lot of homework recently, and wanted to post here to make sure I am not overlooking anything.

We currently use Solidworks for all of our designs, so I am looking for a CAM package that integrates directly with Solidworks. It is basically between two solutions now, Mastercam for Solidworks or SolidCAM. The machine I have in mind is the Haas VF-3YT.

My questions are:

How much training is going to be required for a person with no machining experience to run this machine? Is it as simple as loading the output from whichever CAM software and pressing "Go"?

Where can I find the tools required?

What kind of maintenance is required on a machine such as this?

Any suggestions for milling polyethylene foam?

Thank you in advance for reading/responding.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Need a Sanity Check

Quote Originally Posted by xTourniquet View Post
    Hello All,

I am a product designer for a company that designs packaging foam inserts which we currently outsource for manufacturing. I am new to the world of machining, and have been tasked with sourcing a CNC mill to bring that aspect of our production in house. I have been doing a lot of homework recently, and wanted to post here to make sure I am not overlooking anything.

We currently use Solidworks for all of our designs, so I am looking for a CAM package that integrates directly with Solidworks. It is basically between two solutions now, Mastercam for Solidworks or SolidCAM. The machine I have in mind is the Haas VF-3YT.