"Makerslide" ... Interesting alternative rails

Thread: "Makerslide" ... Interesting alternative rails

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default "Makerslide" ... Interesting alternative rails

Inventables.com is taking pre-orders for Makerslide. Looks like an awesome alternative to commercial rails. From watching all the videos at their website about the rails, and reading up on their site, they look perfect for the hobbyist (me) or someone building their own customer CNC equipment (me - I want to build a CNC rig for a very specific application). The rails look easy to work with, offering lower-cost with more flexibility and ease-of-use than other stuff I've worked with.

The disclaimer here is that I am no CNC expert. I just have taken the CNC and Autodesk Inventor and CAD/CAM courses at TechShop and done a tool & die project with Tormach 1100 at their Menlo Park, California facility. I have dabbled a bit in building custom low-end CNC equipment for my RC hobby - enough to know about some of the costs and hassles. Based on my experiences attempting to build low-end CNC stuff, and seeing the videos and text at the Inventables, for these rails, I've ordered a couple "Makerslide" rails to build a custom CNC rig for a particular use.

As with my recent post to announce the Shapeoko open-source CNC machine at Inventables, I am not associated with Inventables nor profiting, nor marketing for them in any capacity beyond my own interests, specifically, to get the word out, so the products I've ordered for myself achieve enough pre-orders to kick off production, so I can get my stuff sooner :-)

But beyond my own selfish interests, I think this stuff is awesome as a lower cost way for tinkerers to get or build CNC equipment and I assume others will agree.

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads