Some Brand-newbie advise

Thread: Some Brand-newbie advise

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Some Brand-newbie advise

I was hoping to get some advice from the forum - I have always wanted a guitar similar to the Languedoc hollow bodies. I have absolutely zero CAD/CAM experience, but I have built many things out of wood before just never a guitar. In Pittsburgh we have a builder's workshop where you can pay $150 monthly for membership that gets you access to CNC machining, a spray booth, a work area, tons of tools, etc. Additionally I have most of the hand tools I would need from working on my other guitars. If I were going to build a guitar from scratch I would want to do it with CNC. My question I guess is this - does it make sense for me to try to model an arched top hollow body guitar and mill one out? I am a software engineer by trade, writing the embedded code to run the actual machine would be right in my wheelhouse, but that's a different universe completely than modelling. If this is going to end up being a project that takes 18 months, costs $5000, and ends in an inferior instrument that doesn't play right, I'd rather buy an Artcore. I'm really looking more for a "you should try it, it's great fun" or "this is too ambitious kid, stick to 1's and 0's" type of advice.

Also, if anyone has a suggestion for CAD software to start modelling that is full featured enough to model an archtop, but inexpensive enough to not totally miff SWMBO (she who must be obeyed, don't know if you guys use that one over here), I would like to hear what you suggest. Many thanks!

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Some Brand-newbie advise

hi croncejc, kind o fin the same boat as you. FNG with no experience but many ambitions.