Plastic Injection Mold

Thread: Plastic Injection Mold

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Plastic Injection Mold

Hi Everyone!

I am new to injection molding but I am very interested in learning more. I am currently designing a part for a mold that I am going to make on my PCNC 770 out of aluminum. I was hoping someone could give it a quick look and see if I am leaving anything out or if it would produce defective parts in any way.

I plan to produce around 5000 parts out of ABS for this mold.

I have attached a pdf and I also have step files if you would like to take a look I can email them to you.

Thanks!
    Greg

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Plastic Injection Mold-qf_mold-pdf  

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Plastic Injection Mold

Ejector pins???? Waterlines for cooling the mold??

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks Mike!

I had considered added those. I didn't know if they were necessary for short run molds <5000.

Can the parts be removed by hand? or is that not typically done?

Can the mold be cooled on its own? or, again, is that not typical?

Thanks
    Greg

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

The shape of the part dictates the ejection requirements, not the length of the run. You "maybe", 'might", get by doing it by hand but remember when the part shrinks on to the ejector half it will probably tough to get off.
    As far as cooling, the heat has to go somewhere. You could let the mold cool on its own when it gets hot. But that could make for a long time to make 4-5 thousand parts.

Mike

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by gyronikeleg View Post
    Hi Everyone!