How much cross-slide play is ok? Can't seem to properly adjust the gibs on my Sieg C3

Thread: How much cross-slide play is ok? Can't seem to properly adjust the gibs on my Sieg C3

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default How much cross-slide play is ok? Can't seem to properly adjust the gibs on my Sieg C3

Hi,

I'm a machining newbie, and am having trouble adjusting the cross-slide gib on my Sieg C3 mini-lathe: I have tightened the gibs to the point where it is difficult to move the cross-slide handle, and yet I am still getting a visible 0.05mm of play when I push down on the compound.

I have followed some other guides, and have given the gib screws cone tips, have replaced the standard steel gib strip with a brass one, and polished the gib. I haven't properly polished the surfaces of the cross-slide itself yet though.

Per the attached photos, I have attached a short piece of aluminium plate to the cross slide to simulate the compound and for a bit of leverage, and when I press firmly firmly down on the lever the other side of the cross-slide lift off its ways by a visible amount of about 0.05mm. I'm not sure if this is actually entirely normal and as good as I should be expecting? My thinking is that this amount of deflection will be noticeable when turning and may also be behind my difficulty in parting off (the parting tool always digs in and jams) - but after an afternoon of adjusting I can't seem to get it any better than this.
    How much cross-slide play is ok? Can't seem to properly adjust the gibs on my Sieg C3-rest-jpgHow much cross-slide play is ok? Can't seem to properly adjust the gibs on my Sieg C3-deflect-jpg

I've also attached a close-up of the gaps I can see between the cross-slide bed, ways and gibs, to see if these are all normal or perhaps theres something else involved in this excessive amount of play that is bothering me.

How much cross-slide play is ok? Can't seem to properly adjust the gibs on my Sieg C3-gap-jpg