Build Thread Atlas 618 6" Lathe Restoration..attempt.

Thread: Atlas 618 6" Lathe Restoration..attempt.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Atlas 618 6" Lathe Restoration..attempt.

I've come into possession of an old 6" lathe, an Atlas 618 to be exact. It went through a massive barn/shop fire that eradicated all of my in-laws most prized possessions. Grandpa salvaged this and stashed it in his barn for a rainy day (back in 2005ish), which happened to be when he heard me talking about getting a hobby mill. I forgot to grab pics of the motor mount and pulleys (pulleys & motor melted)

^ And that is AFTER it soaked in diesel fuel and had the first coat of burned paint scrubbed off. (hence the black plastic for the ride home, STINKY)

Being I have zero hands on experience machining, let alone ever had one on one time with a lathe, I used my best friend the internet and was able to find the manual. With that, I had the confidence to dig in and start cleaning things up. To get an idea of how bad it was, here's a before and after of the two base plates:

At that point, I figured it had a chance of being returned to glory. My new best friends for the past 2 weekends, and probably for the next couple months:

I'm hitting it in the three part process - WD w/ a brass hand brush --> Wire brush in the Ryobi when called for --> Rinse & scrub again w/ Napthla --> Rinse w/ water --> Evapo-rust bath until clean. I may run some parts through the ringer again just because the evapo-rust is leaving black & yellow goo here and there (like 1 in 10 parts had it, mostly showed up on internal threads). It comes off easy, but if I'm going to all this trouble, it might as well be the best it can be. Then I dust em' with some gun oil to keep em' sharp until(if?) the day of reassembly comes.