Milltronics Nube Questions (do I or don't I?)

Thread: Milltronics Nube Questions (do I or don't I?)

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Red face Milltronics Nube Questions (do I or don't I?)

Gents, I am involved in an potential equipment trade that would leave me with an Milltronics MB20 Toolroom mill and and an Ml1440 Lathe.

I am new to CNC, (I own an elderly bridgeport knee-mill which I enjoy) I am a product designer and I use Solidworks. I intend to generate masters with complex contours for sand casting with this equipment. And I will generally work in aluminum or Renshape. My end use would be finishing out near net castings for some of my design work "for fun and profit" *grin*

My Questions:
    WIll the MB20 (centurion 7)be adequate for 3d contouring (as long as I design for 3 axis)?

I am investigating whether it is optioned with a fourth axis, does this work well on the Milltronics?

Is this a good starter machine for non-production (initially) use.

I am told the equipment is three years old (don't really know yet), I suspect the equipment hasn't been used much (offshoring), what kind of resale value would I get when I trade up?

The Ml1440 lathe (Centurion 7)- I am a lathe dufus, - I haven't used one much. Will this be a good starter machine?

Any thoughts or comments would help a nube take the right step.

Thanks!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Milltronics has a terrible reputation in the commercial shops. But, I think their recent stuff is not all that bad. They just went through a reoganization right ahead of the bankruptcy court. Didn't hear if they are up and running again.

Anyway, resale would be a problem. But, i think these machines would meet your needs. Be aware of possible parts issues.

Karl

Downloads
    Uploads