error 449

Thread: error 449

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default error 449

Hey, newbie here, we have a partner vm16 with a centurion 6 controller (mid 1990's ?). I used to run this machine 5-6 years ago but not now. I'm trying to help figure this error out. The machine was running fine last week, but when it was turned on this morning, this 449 error message came up. The reset button does nothing.
    We have powered it up numerous times and have pushed a relay reset button that looks like it feeds the drive boards. Each time we push it in, it kicks right back out. Also, the z axis has drifted down while we were doing this.
    Any suggestions where to start with this error code would be helpful.

Thanks

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

A 449 error is a drive fault error. The control can't /won't even try to reset if it gets a fault input. By forcing the relay, you remove the Z axis brake without the having the control hold the motor so the head falls.

If you have DC drives, look for an LED on the card. On a GA370 Glentek drive card, the light only stays on for a short time so you have to have the door open, watch the cards, have somebody else press the reset button.

After you determine which drive faults, note which LED lights and report back.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks ZZZZ, but before we had a chance to try your suggestions, a Milltronics tech called us. It was determined that something in the spindle drive unit ( G5 Spindle Drive Inverter ) is bad. Due to the age of it, it needs to be "rebuilt" not replaced. Thanks again.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Good, you found the source of the fault. Too bad the drive needs rebuilding.

Let us know who you find to rebuild it, my favorite drive repair shop went out of business and I and others are always looking for good rebuilders.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads