Need Help! atypical use

Thread: atypical use

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default atypical use

Hello,

My usage of a spindle is atypical. I’m an musician, and I want to use it to turn (spin) an elastic jump rope (length: 5meter), slightly tensioned (maximum tension 10kg), with a 50mm offset from the axis.
    I first tried a washer motor (14000rpm), it's working but far too loud.
    Then, I've tried a system with a shaft (10mm) passing in 2 pillow blocks bearing coupled with a brushless outrunner motor. (1rst photo)
    It's working but the bearings, which are not angular ones, don't support well the offset from the axis (then certainly a shorter lifespan), and it still makes too much noise (due to vibrations, mis-alignment between the 2 pillows). I am still thinking about optimizing this system ( with some mistakes on 2nd photo), and machining different parts (or maybe use a cartridge kit), with better bearings, but complexity comes with precision, and sometimes it's not so good to reinvent something already well-engineer (plus I'm not an expert).

I’m looking for a robust system (5 to 8 hours running), and silent (as it will be on stage).
    I need to vary the speed between 100hz and 200hz (6000 rpm and 12000rpm) (I think the speed limit has to exceed 200Hz, as it will run long hours..)

for example, I saw this spindle:
    http://www.automationtechnologiesinc...cooled-spindle
    but I'm not sure that it is low noise and support the forces from the offset-tension.

Can you advice me or share experiences?

thanks

Pamal

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails atypical use-testb-jpeg   atypical use-testc-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: atypical use