MadCam 5 v3 Help - Request for tutorials

Thread: MadCam 5 v3 Help - Request for tutorials

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default MadCam 5 v3 Help - Request for tutorials

Hello,
    I'm a newbie to CNC, having taken a few classes in Rhino drawing and general CNC operation, and produced a handful of projects at school. I have a small, one man shop building guitars, and I recently sprung for a CNC and MadCam 5 v3 (already have Rhino 5). I may have been overconfident, but I assumed I could whip through a set of ordered, same source MadCam tutorials, break a few bits, ruin some wood, and be up and running. I'm finding that something as simple as scribing reference lines into my spoil board, or cutting a simple sign from vector artwork is stumping me to the point of extreme frustration/despair. I'm hoping I'm not alone, here.

My request is this: Can someone (maybe at MadCam) put together a set of short videos, with audio, aimed at getting newbies over the initial hurdles? I would ideally like to see something like "Part 1: So you got your first CNC machine. Now what?" and then take us through some super simple tasks like Building your tool library, Installing your Post Processor file, Leveling the spoil board, Etching Reference lines/grid and text into the spoil board, Generating simple tool paths (single tool) to test your machine, Making your first sign from type, Cutting wood inlays, etc

About the simplest video I could find currently, is the 2D profiling from curves one, and even following it step by step, I could not get a tool path to run in simulation without getting an OpenGL error message every time. It would be great to see some stuff targeting folks like me who chose MadCam as our first CAM software, and want to get to work. Thanks very much for your help!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: MadCam 5 v3 Help - Request for tutorials

Have you seen the madCAM YouTube channel? There are a lot of videos there.