MIRRORING ENTIRE DRAWING WITH TOOLPATHS?? IS THIS OK?

Thread: MIRRORING ENTIRE DRAWING WITH TOOLPATHS?? IS THIS OK?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default MIRRORING ENTIRE DRAWING WITH TOOLPATHS?? IS THIS OK?

Hi,
    I am a fairly basic amateur, having played intermittently with Rhino, Madcam and a fairly good solid accurate 3-axis router table for 3 years now. I have had pretty good success making model aircraft moulds, but with plenty of head scratching and stuffups along the way. I’m always cutting Corian or Freestyle (acrylic or polyester solid surface benchtop materials). So I have a reasonable amount of experience but there are a lot of basics I don’t know and I tend to go much too long between jobs and forget half of what I’ve learnt.

I am currently cutting negative moulds for a nicely designed dynamic soaring sailplane fuselage. It involves cutting pockets and using inserts to get good shapes for fillets and steps, so there are a lot of toolpaths and uses quite a few different cutters to get into fiddly areas and shapes. It's quite a big job getting the toolpaths sorted. I have almost completed the first side which will then be taken off the table and I’ll start on the other side.

MY QUESTION IS:
    The two fuselage halves are complete mirror opposites of each other. Can I save time and effort by mirroring the entire drawing including the hundred or so Madcam toolpaths, and then re-selecting and postprocessing them appropriately?

I know that this works for more simple things but haven’t tried it for a more complex shape. My thinking is that the only issue would be that any climb toolpaths will now become conventional, but I tend to think that wouldn’t be a problem.

Any advice or warnings very much appreciated.

Thanks, Andrew

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: MIRRORING ENTIRE DRAWING WITH TOOLPATHS?? IS THIS OK?