Sherline 5400 Mill, Mach 3 and soft limits.

Thread: Sherline 5400 Mill, Mach 3 and soft limits.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Sherline 5400 Mill, Mach 3 and soft limits.

Hi.

My name is Ed and I'm new to CNC machining. I own a Sherline 5400 mill (and a long bed Sherline lathe) and have just converted them both to CNC. I have a DeepGrove1, 4 axis controller box with Gecko 540's and 270oz nema 23 motors. I'm running Mach 3 and Mill Wizard. I also have a Soigeneris SSENC-1 Ethernet SmoothStepper System as well.

My question is this. Being new to CNC (translation: I know very little), I've
    heard that on these smaller mils/Lathes, that you don't need to put Homing Switches on then, but you can use Soft limits to setup your machine coordinates. Is that so? I have my mill's motors on, have gone through doing my "Motor Tuning, and now I'm ready to setup soft limits. Could someone familiar with a Sherline setup like mine, provide me with a little help completing mine? I've read the Mach 3 pdf, and watched a bunch of video's about it, but they don't relate to my setup. I'd really appreciate it.

According to the Sherline Mill's site, my mill's travel spec's are as follow': • X axis Travel: 8.68" • Y axis Travel; 5.00" • Z axis Travel: 6.25

Thank you.

-Ed/emojo5

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Sherline 5400 Mill, Mach 3 and soft limits.

from what little i know you can not have soft limits without homing limits enabled..otherwise machine has no idea where to set soft limits

Downloads
    Uploads

Yes you can set soft limits without having any physical switches at all fitted.
    Pick a point where you want home to be and set soft limits according to that.
    The downside is if you have a crash or lost steps you have to re-locate where zero point was by hand (guesstimation).

I have no home or limit switches myself at present. My soft limits warn me if my part will exceed the travel.