Thinking about my first CNC machine, thoughts and opinions welcome.

Thread: Thinking about my first CNC machine, thoughts and opinions welcome.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Thinking about my first CNC machine, thoughts and opinions welcome.

Hi All,

I am new here and this is my first post. I've been lurking around for a while and have learned loads, enough that I am very close on a pushing the button on purchasing a CNC machine. I have no experience using a CNC machine bar this one time almost 10 years ago and really all I did was draw out a pcb sketch and the programmer put all the info in the computer and out came a PCB. Still though I have been doing a lot of research learning how these machines work. I am also currently trying to learn Fusion 360.

To give you an idea of what I would like to achieve with a CNC machine is to make a furniture items; cabinet making, bedroom suites, baby furniture, kids furniture etc. These items will mainly be made out of 16mm MDF as this is the particle board that is most readily available to me but it would also be nice to know the machine I buy can work with hard woods as well.

I've narrowed my search down to two manufacturers and these are CNC Router Parts and Omni CNC and have quotes for for a 5 x 10 bed machine.

I am leaning towards the CNC Router Parts Pro kit with plug and play electronics for these reasons;

1) I have read glowing reviews of their products and most importantly excellent support and backup service.
    2) Their machines require assembly which I think will teach me very quickly about the ins and outs of CNC machines which is very important to me.
    3) Their machines seem compatible with new upgrades they bring out in the market and they seem to be cooking up new stuff.
    4) My budget just about meets the 5 x 10 machine with all the necessary parts to get cutting including the 2.2kw (3hp) air cooled spindle they offer

My concerns about the CNC Router Parts Pro kit.