In need of some advice!

Thread: In need of some advice!

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default In need of some advice!

So I own a small gunsmithing business and we are looking to make a move into producing our own products. The issue is I don't have much experience with CNC machining. I have plenty of experience with manual mills and lathes, but I'm worried if i was to buy a cnc machine i would be in over my head. I took a few classes in Cad so I have a little bit of knowledge in AutoDesk, not sure if that helps. I also had a job where I programmed a couple robotic spot welders. So basically I'm wondering if there are certain machines that are more user friendly than others? Also should I just retro fit my Bridgeport J2 mill instead of buying a whole new machine? I've been looking through this forum trying to suck in as much knowledge as I can in hopes of understanding CNC a little bit more. Thanks for the help!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: In need of some advice!

I think you could learn it quick. As far as what to learn, I would say focus more on CAM/Gcode/CNC concepts vs CAD. When programming on the lathe you really just need a 2d view of the part wire frame so that it pretty dang easy. When programming on the mill you do usually need a 3d part model, but I would just hire that out. So in my humble opinion I think focusing on the CAM/Gcode concepts would be the best/essential route to transition in CNC manufacturing.

How big are your part runs? I don't run my own shop so I don't have spread sheet numbers to back this up, but I would think anything over 10 parts would be a good investment.

Machines:
    I started on these prototrak machines. They aren't full on "CNC" machines because they don't accept Gcode programs, but you are still programming in a lot of automation.
    ProtoTRAK SLX : ProtoTRAK CNC - Southwestern Industries, Inc.
    ProtoTRAK SMX : ProtoTRAK CNC - Southwestern Industries, Inc.

Downloads
    Uploads