Mach 3 work offset retention.

Thread: Mach 3 work offset retention.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Post Mach 3 work offset retention.

I am new to using Mach 3 and on a "learning curve " It's all working OK on a mill but when I put in the work offset no 1 (G54) and save it - it has not been retained at start up the next day. I have read the manual and set the box on the config screen to persistent offsets.
    I must be missing something.

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I have Mach 3 and I reset my G54 offsets every day. When I shut the machine down the next day it's blank when I start up. I used the machine yesterday and as I read your post I went and checked it out and it was clean nothing retained. To many variables to say that your X0Y0Z0 will be in the same place when you shut down and start up again, and if you have stepper motors you have to zero every time as sometimes they want to creep. I only cut wood and I always leave plenty of stock.Maybe it's a good thing it does not retain the G54 you may get lazy and not check and scrap your next part. I downloaded all 154 pages of Mach3 I will read thru and see if there is anything on the subject. Art has a great product going with the the Mach 3, and has great service.

9lrac9 K2cnc owner.

Downloads
    Uploads

G54 Is the default coordinate system, so it doesn't get saved. There's a workaround, however. On the offset screen, click "Save Offsets". Scroll down to the last one, G59P253. Set up your offsets there and save.

Open the General Configuration screen. At the bottom right side, check the box that says "copy G54 from G59.253 at startup". Restart Mach3 and you'll have your G54 offsets.

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    [URL]http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html[/URL]