Mach3 motor tuning question

Thread: Mach3 motor tuning question

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Mach3 motor tuning question

OK, I just finish building my CNC router base off of Joe2000che's and JGRO's plans.
    I have the hobbycnc driver with 3 200oz 1.8 degree stepper motors and 5/16 18 tpi lead screw. I'm trying to configure the motor tuning page in Mach3. I been searching and reading in the forum on how to tune the motor but could not find out how to calculate the step per. I understand for the Accel and Velocity you just try error until you get the motor to stall and decrease it by 20% but for the "steps per" not sure how to obtain or calculate it. I'm pretty sure there is a thread on this already but I can't seem to find it.

Any help will be great. By the way did I mention I was a newbie.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by kn6398
    OK, I just finish building my CNC router base off of Joe2000che's and JGRO's plans.
    I have the hobbycnc driver with 3 200oz 1.8 degree stepper motors and 5/16 18 tpi lead screw. I'm trying to configure the motor tuning page in Mach3. I been searching and reading in the forum on how to tune the motor but could not find out how to calculate the step per. I understand for the Accel and Velocity you just try error until you get the motor to stall and decrease it by 20% but for the "steps per" not sure how to obtain or calculate it. I'm pretty sure there is a thread on this already but I can't seem to find it.

Any help will be great. By the way did I mention I was a newbie.
    200 steps per revolution x 18 turns per inch (5/16"-18 rods) = 3,600 full step or 7,200 1/2 step and so on depending on the step jumpers you set on your board.

Any pictures of your machine? like to see a post on it.

Joe

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by joe2000che