CNC MILLING MACHINE VS CNC LATHE

Thread: CNC MILLING MACHINE VS CNC LATHE

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default CNC MILLING MACHINE VS CNC LATHE

As far as sculptural art, what’s the difference between CNC lathes and milling machines in what they can do? Is it just that lathes are preferred for statues?

Thanks for any info

Similar Threads:

Community Moderator
    Downloads
    Uploads

Most CNC sculptures are made with 3 or 4-axis milling machines. Lathes are for turning, not much "shaping" can be made with them.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I am a newbie to this whole CNC stuff. I wish someone could expand on the lathe, mill and router differences. I have ordered a 3 axis router. I just gathered it has its limitations, meaning i still have to procure a lathe or mill to make more wholesome products if my imagination drives me far

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

A lathe is used to make things like baseball bats, stair banisters, and candle sticks by spinning the material around a stationary cutter. A mill is generally the opposite. Your material does not spin around, but your cutter does. Unless you have a 4th axis...then you have the best of both worlds, your material spins and your cutter does too. It would take too much time to explain in words the differences, so why don't you do some google searches on both subjects and I'm sure you will be inundated with videos showing you the difference.

Downloads
    Uploads

The difference is in accuracy and linear-motion complexity.