help with tool path window

Thread: help with tool path window

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default help with tool path window

I am new to cnc and mach3 and i have lots of questions about mach3. Most of all I want to know about homeing a 3020 machine without home switches? Do I need to do that? Also I am confused about knowing how do I know were the gcode picture is when it is in the tool path window in relation to the material on the machine table? Were will it be engraved on the material? I have been useing the road runner gcode to try and figure this out. Have watched the mach support videos and read the manual but as i don't have home switches am confused what to do. Any help will be great. Thanks Dom.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

I answered this on another forum, but I'll reply again here as it may help someone else.

First, let me say that a post like this will rarely get any replies, as it's not a simple question to answer. What you're basically asking is for someone to teach you how to use your machine.
    Very few people have the time or patience to do that on a forum like this.
    You might want to post in the Australian section here to see if you can find someone local to show you the ropes. In 30 minutes of face to face "training", you can learn more than you can gather in weeks of reading. This is especially true for a beginner with zero CNC experience, who may not even know what they should be looking for.

Now, to your questions. I'm going to answer them a bit differently this time.

Most of all I want to know about homeing a 3020 machine without home switches? Do I need to do that?
    Technically, no, you don't need to home your machine. But you'll be missing out on a few advantages.
    1) Softlimits. You can't use them without homing the machine